A Single Child Home?

6 Oct

I learned a new word today!  “Onlie”….its the term used for an only child.

Obviously with family planning, the excitement and nervousness of our first baby on the way, the thoughts of a second child come in to play.  Is that something we want?  If so, is it something we need to do right after the first baby?

Oddly enough I come from a family of 5 – 2 parents, 3 children (me, my brother, my sister).  I am the youngest.  Most of my friends seem to come from families where they had siblings.  And the majority say that they cannot imagine NOT giving their child a sibling to grow up with.  I find this odd….and not a feeling that I share for myself.  While I love both my siblings and am grateful that I had them growing up, I never felt like its something I owed to my child….I feel like its only the right decision if it makes sense for OUR family.  But for some reason, I have always had a feeling that we’d be a one child family.  I can’t recall tell you why.

My husband is one of those people who is good at brining up arguments for and against any subject.  So as we have discussed the (likely) possibility of having a “onlie” he brought up some pros/cons.  I can across an article on fitpregnancy.com that talked about it… and it states that back in the day, single child families were very rare…but with today’s hard economic times, etc. it’s not as strange.  I thought it was a good article and put to rest some of those arguments against having an only child.  There are certainly things to watch out for so they don’t become too spoiled or self-centered…..but the article made me feel like it’s totally okay and nothing you should feel “guilty” about for not providing a sibling.  Some say you SHOULD give your child a sibling as a “built-in” friend….but yikes, the 18-21 year price tag on that “friend” is HUGE!!! lol…. that’s a lot of trips to Disney (or whatever will be the cool place when my kid is old enough).

Here is the article: http://www.fitpregnancy.com/motherhood/motherhood/your-one-and-only

Things may change, but for now, I think that a “onlie” is going to be the perfect fit for our lil’ family 🙂

One Response to “A Single Child Home?”

  1. Mary October 6, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Yeah, sure, having multiple children is much more expensive than just one child. However, I feel that it is a personal choice of every couple should they decide they only want one child or not. No one should be feeling guilty or be told that they should have multiple children. Back in the old days, limiting how many children a couple has wasn’t exactly an option. Nowadays, it is easier to limit how often a couple has a baby, and how long a couple waits before trying for another baby. I don’t think anyone is in any position to tell a couple how many and how often a couple should have kids. If a couple only wants one kid, that is the couple’s personal choice and no one but God should have a say in that.

Leave a Reply

