10 Week Checkup

2 Sep

image

I had a 10 checkup on Friday – it was my first OB visit since the my appointment where they confirmed my pregnancy.  I was not expecting to get another ultrasound, but they did one!  This time it was over the tummy, not a transvaginal like last time.

I’ve heard that the ‘goop’ they put on your stomach is hot – but it was still kind of a surprising feeling when she put it on me!  I got to hear the baby’s heart beat…which was 171.  The rest of the appointment consisted of a full physical exam – pap and all – ugh.

I had one major issue I wanted to discuss with my OB during my appointment…. that was my SKIN.  I told her I’m breaking out like crazy and begged for a solution.  Her answer was basically that its hormonal and that there is nothing you can do about it.  Even after the baby is born, I won’t be able to get on any Rx or anything while I’m nursing.  SO, I have another year+ of yucky skin 😦

On another note – have you ever heard of any of those old wives tales about predicting the sex  of the baby?  Things like certain sexual positions, etc.  Well, I heard one about the heartrate of the fetus being an indicator of sex.  They say that HR over 140+ are GIRLS because they have faster metabolisms.  I’m not saying I believe in them or not, but they are just interesting to read about 🙂  Time will tell if this one is accurate!

3 Responses to “10 Week Checkup”

  1. Cassy September 5, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    Aaaaah! Look at the little nugget! I was quizzing KJ on her geography today and when I asked her who else lives in Tennessee she said “Aunt Dawn”? I replied “Aunt Jen and Uncle Mike live in Tennessee, too”. Then she said “With my cousins?”. I immediately said No, then said “OH, Well yes, but it’s only one cousin for now honey. And they will be in Aunt Jens belly when we see her at Christmas”. We absolutely can’t wait to see you!

    • maryboston September 7, 2012 at 7:09 am #

      I read that the heartbeat thing is true this is in the third trimester, cuz early in the pregnancy, all babies’ heartbeats are really fast.

      • maryboston September 7, 2012 at 7:09 am #

        ….and btw… how come you got another ultrasound so soon?! I didn’t get to see my baby until 20 weeks!

Leave a Reply

