Getting back to pre-preggo body

30 Aug

I don’t know if this is normal… but I am already finding myself thinking about planning my strategy for getting my body after the baby is born in March.  Getting back in shape is VERY important to me and something I knew was going to be an ‘issue’ before I even ventured down this road.

To be 100% honest, I have never been in a position where I had to lose weight before.  I have always been a very slim/slender frame and the majority of my workout goals revolved around building muscle, toning, strength, endurance and of course, ABS!  Don’t get me wrong, the end result of having a new creation and member of our family is totally going to be worth it and outweigh the anxiety of putting on weight.  I’m just saying it FREAK S ME OUT!

SO, to easy my nerves, I am planning my post baby plan of attack.  Originally I was thinking about doing a round of Insanity and then moving on to Beachbody’s newest program…. BODY BEAST!

 

What did you do to get your pre-preggo body back??  How long did it take?  And….were you worried about it, or did you just expect it and knew it came with the territory?

Although, now I am thinking, I may just go ahead and JUMP right into this one.  Muscle burns fat alot quicker than cardio does… and the challenge of a NEW program could be a good thing!

4 Responses to “Getting back to pre-preggo body”

  1. Mary August 31, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    It’s normal. I find myself thinking the same thing. But do understand, when the baby is born, you’ll lose intially like, 10 pounds. (baby’s weight plus the water that was held in by the placenta). Nursing your baby will burn at least 500 calories a day, plus it will help shrink your urterus faster. There’s also all these extra fluids that are running in our body. We are MEANT to still have extra weight so our body can produce the milk for the baby. Exercising right away might not be necessary. Keep in mind that the doctor might not clear you for these workouts for a few weeks as you should be focusing on recovery and taking care of your newborn. Especially if you have a c-section as the recovery time from that is much longer than natural birth.

    It won’t take us long to get back to our pre-pregnancy weight. Pre-pregnancy size, however, might take awhile 😛

    My game plan is to use the first two weeks to focus on recovery and baby. If I find myself having the energy to do so, I’ll go for walks. After a few weeks, or when the doctor clears me for exercising again, I will use TurboFire to help me get back into shape.

    • jengreenberg August 31, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Yes…I heard about the calorie burn with breast feeding…whoohhooo 🙂
      Typically its no exercise allowed until your 6 week check up. But then after that (assuming me and baby are well) its GAME ON! 🙂

      I think TurboFire will be a great post-preggo program. I have seen so many awesome transformations from mothers already! I’m glad that we’ll be in this together so we can keep each other motivated 🙂

  2. Cassy September 5, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    Hey hey hey! This was also a concern of mine when I was pregnant with KJ. I am the kind of person that is determined to be fit and healthy during all aspects and timeframes of my life so pre, during & post baby I ate ok and exercised. After I saw how easy it was to get back into my normal exercise routine after I had KJ the pregnancy and all that encompasses was super easy with Alexa. I knew where I wanted to be and I made it happen through the proper channels of eating healthy(ish) and exercise. Hopefully you will be more at ease with this since you are determined not to let pregnancy be a reason to get fat :)~

  3. Verna October 5, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I didn’t really have to do anything. I’ve always had a hard time loosing weight so I was nervous about this from the beginning but breastfeeding alone took care of all of my pregnancy weight plus a little extra. I gain quite a bit over the recommended amount too. I’m very thankful. ; )

Leave a Reply

