Product Review – Target – Giada De Laurentiis – Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce

27 Aug

Image

Are you a jarred pasta sauce person?  I really don’t mind it, but definitely prefer homemade.  My husband is a sauce snob and really ONLY likes his mother’s homemade sauce.  So, on nights when I’m solo for dinner, sometimes I will grab a jar of sauce out and have a quick and easy dinner.

First of all, can I just say that I LOVE Giada?  I have been watching her show for the past few years and have tried out SEVERAL of her recipes from foodnetwork.com.  I have been seeing her products show up on Target shelves and while I initially thought the food products were a little pricey, I happened to catch this Tomato Basil sauce on sale yesterday.

I tried it out over a bed of whole grain al dente shells and some broccoli.  It was a great easy meal and I enjoyed it.  I think the sauce is better than most jarred sauces in the $3-$4 price range.  It was not too chunky and still had good tomato/garlic/basil flavors.  My one complaint was that it was a little ‘sweet’.

There are several other sauce varieties available in her brand collection including creamy tomato and vegetable marinara.  I look forward to trying those out too – when they’re on sale – and when the sauce snob isn’t home 🙂

Image

Overall Rating:  3.5/5

Leave a Reply

