What’s in your fridge?

6 Jan

I always love seeing other people’s posts with pics of their perfectly clean, organized and well stocked refrigerator, freezer and pantry….Mine doesn’t look at “Martha Stewart-y” as I would like… BUT, it’s a start and its been super easy to eat well and grab smart(er) options!

So..here is the door shot.  We’ve got a few salad dressings….see that bottle with the strawberry on it?  That is my new fave – Blush Wine Vinaigrette.  This is brand new to me…has anyone else heard of it?

Anyways – next shelf down I have my half & half (which is leftover from holiday baking) and my unsweetened coconut milk and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  I LOVE using those milks for my chocolate shakeology in the AM.  There are so many flavor variations that you can come up with….starts my day off on the right foot!

OK..here is the main area….  I’ve got some skim milk – bottled water and apple juice.  You know whats weird?  People who live here and use this fridge… they find it easy to grab and go  – especially with the water! But I seem to be the ONLY one willing and able to actually put new bottles of water back IN the fridge!  OHwell…

What else is in there?  Oh.. I made a big batch of chicken.  Just plain skinless/boneless thin breasts and tenderloin.  Eh – I don’t know if I’ll do that again.  Or maybe not as much next time.  I also pre-made a few salads in those Tupperware containers on the bottom.  Mixed greens, cherry heirloom tomatoes (another NEW find for me!) and english cucumbers.  You know what would go well with that salad?  Oh I know!  Blush Wine Vinaigrette! lol

The other thing I tried doing was hard boiling a dozen eggs.  I don’t know if you can see them in the pic… But, that worked out well for me during the week.  Only complaint I did have was the first day or so my fridge had an eggy smell.  Not rotten egg, but just egg.

And lastly, the veggie drawer.  I took the time to peel and cut up all those little carrot sticks!  See them over there in the left corner?  Don’t you think actual cut up carrots taste different from baby carrots?  I do.  However, that being said, is the taste worth the extra time/effort of prepping my own?  Not so sure…  Also, I have my salad stuff, and looks like some mushrooms back there too…

SO – whats in yours this week?

It’s a New Year!  Are you resolving to eat well and keep healthy foods stocked this year?

2 Responses to “What’s in your fridge?”

  1. Mary January 6, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    I definitely don’t have olive Mayo that’s for sure! Haha, I tried that it was soooo disgusting to me!
    Currently, I have nothing healthy in my fridge- they were all eaten or gone bad 🙂 Except for Chobani Greek Yogurt. I love that brand.
    I have celery sticks which will go with the pb celery sticks snacks at work and home.
    To fix that egg smell you gotta have them in a large container. It’ll retain the smell.

    Since my work is inside a grocery store, it’s easy to leave things behind at home and just pick some random stuff at the store when it’s lunch time. I usually get the sweet potato or a russet potato, a small box of frozen edamame with sea salt, a banana, and a Chobani greek yogurt, or I’ll get some frozen vegetables and microwavable brown rice and substitute the potato and edamame for these two and just have a banana to go as dessert.
    In-store banking job has the best of both worlds. 🙂

    wine blush vinigarette…. will have to try that although I’m actually fine eating my salads without a dressing. The juices from chicken tenders, roma/grape tomatoes, peppers, and cucmbers are enough to give it that moist taste. That’s just me though, and I am happy to not have to depend on something so fattening to be able to eat! 🙂

    • jengreenberg January 6, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

      I can eat a salad w/out dressing only if it has plenty of good toppings, etc. on it….. Luckily when I do use dressings, I prefer the lighter vinaigerette style ones – and just a dash. I’m not a blue cheese or any of those other creamy dressings fan.. well, except Ranch 🙂

Leave a Reply

